Step by cautious step

The Southern Boobook was enjoying the post-dawn sunshine, perched at the darkened ‘entrance’ of an old tank stand. Not sure how my eye was drawn to the bird when I first spotted it, some fifty metres distant. It was scanning the ground intently, in front of its lookout – I suspect it was hoping for another mouse before ‘bed’.

The beautiful creature tolerated me as I made a careful approach until I was almost within touching distance.

SB5

Southern Boobook, Newstead, 30th March 2024

SB3

II

SB2

III

SB4

IV

SB

V

I returned later in the day. The owl was gone, but had left behind a worn primary feather. A close up view of the feather shows fringes, like the teeth of a comb. This adaptation softens the flow of air over the feathers when the owl is in flight, helping absorb noise that might alert potential prey.

ScarletRobin1C6A8528

Southern Boobook – worn primary feather

ScarletRobin1C6A8530

Up close

3 responses to “Step by cautious step

  1. Patrick Kavanagh

    Wonderful Geoff!

  2. Just fantastic shots, thank you, Geoff.

    Joolee

  3. Indeed, wonderful.

    I had a similar experience with a couple of baby kookaburras at Mt Martha at Easter. One very quiet and well coiffured one was joined by a sibling who had a distinct crew cut and was very vocal. Both let me approach to within a couple of feet for a photo. I didn’t try to go any further though I was tempted to try and stroke the nearest one.

    I’m not sure I can download it.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.