A visit from the ‘fig birds’

Last Saturday morning I heard what I thought was the call of an Olive-backed Oriole in the home garden. It was just a ‘snippet’ but I am confident that is what I heard.

Later in the day my hunch was strengthened during a visit to the Loddon River Reserve. I’ve been to this spot a couple of times recently, either in search of birds or to collect figs from the ‘community’ Fig tree.

A party of half a dozen Olive-backed Orioles were alternating between the surrounding River Red Gums and the Fig, a couple of birds on watch from above as the others feasted. The party was a mix of adult and immature birds.

Olive-backed Orioles are ‘fig birds’ that belong to the family Oriolidae. They are the only member of the family that can be found in central Victoria – the remaining two species; Australasian Figbird and the Yellow Oriole are essentially rainforest birds from more northern climes. Olive-backed Orioles are spring migrants to the box-ironbark country, typically arriving in August to breed. They are vocal on arrival, however, they become less noisy and obvious as the season unfolds. In this part of the world they tend to favour more fertile and moister parts of the landscape, generally wherever there is Yellow Box and River Red Gum. Interestingly a small number of birds remain locally throughout the year, albeit keeping largely silent during the cooler months.

Olive-Backed Oriole (adult), Loddon River Reserve, 11th April 2020

The ‘community’ Fig

Immature Olive-backed Oriole

Adult Olive-backed Oriole in River Red Gum

Immature Olive-backed Orioles have a dark iris and buff rather than olive upper parts

Adults have a red iris

One of the adults on sentry duty

Immature Olive-backed Orioles are more blotchy underneath than the adults

11 responses to “A visit from the ‘fig birds’

  1. Great! I wanted to mention that I’ve seen Australasian Fig birds in Mallacoota so they do stray southwards along the coast.

  2. Interesting. Of course I get lots of different “fig” birds here in my forest (Townsville), but I assume not these ones.

    • Hi Jon – great to hear from you. Chances are that you may get all four species (Yellow and Olive-backed Oriole, Spangled Drongo and Australasian Figbird) in your Townsville garden. Of these the Yellow Oriole is on the southern edge of its range but they are apparently resident and might be seen at any time of the year.
      Cheers, geoff

  3. Hi Tony – yes, you are correct. There are also a few records from further west around Bairnsdale … suspect they’ll push even further as time rolls on. Cheers, Geoff

  4. Hi Geoff,
    Drongo now an oriole?

  5. Patrick Flanagan

    Very interested to read that not hearing the OBO doesnt mean they’re not still about. I thought they were seasonal visitors to us at Anglesea and moved back north after breeding. Perhaps they are still here but staying quiet! As they are difficult to spot anyway, I don’t know whether I can prove they are still about!

  6. John and Heather Gilbert

    Hi Geoff,
    These photos grabbed my attention. They are gorgeous. Have had one olive backed oriole pas through some years ago. I am tempted to plant fig trees. These birds are really beautiful.

  7. I often hear orioles in Broadford around spring time but have never caught a glimpse of one on my walks around the local flora reserve so your beautiful pics are very welcome. They seem to be very shy. Judging from the calls, they are individuals not groups and, as you say, they quieten down as summer progresses. I thought they moved on but perhaps not.

  8. Pingback: Orioles and robins | Natural Newstead

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.