Cryptic companion

In most instances birds see us long before we see them – different species seem to have their own ‘safe operating distance’  with humans. Occasionally of course we get the upper hand, allowing a close up view of less confiding species. Such was the case yesterday near Spring Hill Track. As I was walking very slowly and quietly along one of the adjoining tracks I heard something rustle through the nearby shrubby undergrowth. My cryptic companion proved to be  a Painted Button-quail Turnix varius.

Painted Button-quail (female), Spring Hill Track – Muckleford State Forest, 11th September 2012.

Painted Button-quail are common in the Muckleford State Forest, but I usually see them disappear in a whirr of wings! Now its breeding season and the females especially are less likely to fly, preferring to quietly walk away from intruders entering their territory. This one is a female – note the red iris and chestnut on the shoulder. I expect it was leading me away from a nearby nest. The habitat in the forest is perfect for this species – lots of rocky areas with a mixture of shrubs and grasses.

Painted Button-quail – cryptic but striking when seen close-up.

4 responses to “Cryptic companion

  1. That’s gold, Geoff. Great shots of a rarely-photographed bird. Thanks for a great blog.

  2. Hi Geoff. I saw one of these in busy Queen St, Bendigo early this month, )(much to my surprise and delight). It ran out of long grass in a neglected front yard. Unfortunately didnt have a camera with me at the time.

    • They are a surprising bird from my experience with a tendency to turn up in unusual spots as you’ve observed. Thanks for the note Dave.
      Cheers, geoff

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.