I spoke too soon

It appears that I spoke too soon … and the Scarlet Robins were listening.

Yesterday afternoon I returned to the same site in the Muckleford bush where my post from the previous day lamented their absence. Sure enough I was soon surrounded by Scarlet Robins, a number of males calling sweetly from high up. Eventually two of the males approached close enough for some nice images, with a female nearby a little more cautious. I reckon there were at least 4 or 5 males in the vicinity, along with Speckled Warbler, Golden Whistler, Grey Fantail, Grey Shrike-thrush and White-throated Treecreeper.

The movements of Scarlet Robins are puzzling, to me at least. Yesterday’s post elicited a number of comments from local readers, including the recent return of birds to Pilcher’s Bridge and Campbell’s Creek. At least some birds remain locally over summer (see yesterday’s comments).

Observations recorded in Birdata indicate that the local reporting rate over the summer months (December – February) is approximately 25% of that reported in the April – August period, when numbers are at their peak.

SR1-1

Scarlet Robin (adult male), Muckleford State Forest (near Rubbish Track), 28th March 2023

SR2-1

II

SR3-1

Adult female Scarlet Robin

SR4-1

Adult male Scarlet Robin amongst Golden Wattle

SR5-1

Striking a familiar pose

3 responses to “I spoke too soon

  1. Such beautiful birds. I dont see them often enough. Must try to get to your region.

  2. Beautiful bird, great photos

  3. Pingback: Further on the mysteries of robins | Natural Newstead

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.