The advance guard

Over the past few years we’ve had a number of visits from a Blue-faced Honeyeater Entomyzon cyanotis – a single bird on each occasion.

It was no real surprise, a month or so ago, to hear a small company of these birds calling from the Yellow Gums in our yard. At the time I was too slow to capture an image but a return visit from three birds last weekend enabled me to snare some shots.

Blue-faced Honeyeater, Wyndham Street Newstead, 26th August 2017

II

Blue-faced Honeyeaters are interesting – they are an aggressive and territorial species, and while they tend to be sedentary, small groups are known to disperse, colonise new areas and expand their range. In recent years Blue-faced Honeyeaters have arrived and settled in places such as Castlemaine and Maryborough, previously thought to be outside their natural range.

With a changing climate in a fragmented landscape I fully expect Blue-faced Honeyeaters to become local Newstead residents in the next decade.

7 responses to “The advance guard

  1. Hi Geoff

    I won’t say whether climate change bringing you these is a good thing or not but enjoy them anyhow. I have them regularly in Townsville on my block of course and they love the seeds from many of the palms – especially the Fiji Fan Palm.

    Jon

  2. Thanks Jon – if I thought I could send them back and reverse the inevitable I would gladly do so!
    Cheers, Geoff

  3. Fancy them eating seeds. I would never have thought. Although, I think red wattle birds will eat the flesh of apples. Please correct me if I am wrong. And I now wonder if there is a list of other honey eaters which eat foods
    other than nectar and pollen

  4. Hi Geoff good to have met you again today 🙂 Here as promised the ‘sea eagle’ I was talking about. Sure you would know what bird it is…? Thank you and hope to meet again one day kind regards George

    >

  5. To John

    Well I’ll have to say I see them on the palms when they are in flower and have seeds so I’ll have to have a closer look as to what they are really eating!

  6. Blue faced honeyeaters eat insects and other invertebrates as well as honey. I’ve even seen them eating hot chips so I’d consider them opportunistic omnivores. I think you’ll find many honeyeaters eat insects and fruit – white plumed, yellow faced and red wattlebirds certainly do. http://www.birdsinbackyards.net/birds/featured/Honeyeaters

  7. Thank you Vic.

Leave a Reply

