Yellow-faced Honeyeater

This Yellow-faced Honeyeater dallied momentarily in the garden at the weekend. They are a beautiful bird when observed at close quarters.

Yellow-faced Honeyeater, Wyndham Street Newstead, 11th June 2017

II

III

3 responses to “Yellow-faced Honeyeater

  1. Hi Geoff,
    you mention your own garden so often for sightings of birds that i wonder whether you could recommend some small plants that would be especially bird attracting at this time of year. I have many birds coming in summer to my bird baths but not so many in winter. I am on the edge of Kalimna so it would have to be something pretty special to tempt them into the garden. any suggestions? I love your blog and have given the details to all my friends.

    • Hi Julia – my strategy is pretty simple … lots of wattles, Grevilleas and Callistemons and saltbushes – as much as anything I think the birds like the shrubby structure of our garden. we are lucky to have some large Yellow Gums and Red Ironbarks which are often in flower and this brings a bevy of birds. all the best, Geoff

  2. Yes, they are such beautiful little birds and your photographs show this very clearly. I saw them for the first time only a few weeks ago, when a pair visited my garden (Bendigo) As always when meeting a new bird, I went to record both their common and latin name but Google thoroughly confused me. Should I record lichenostomus chrysops (Birds in Backyards) or caligavis chyrsops (Wikipedia)? Thank you for clearing up my confusion in your post yesterday.

Leave a Reply

