Diamonds in the shine

I was delighted yesterday to come across a party of Diamond Firetails at the Rise and Shine. The birds, about 7-8 in total including immatures, were feeding just to the north of the nature walk shelter. Their gentle mewing calls gave them away immediately.

Diamond Firetail, Rise and Shine, 10th June 2017

II

III

11 responses to “Diamonds in the shine

  1. My brother David archer and I saw them there yesterday… lovely,.

  2. Great to see these little beauties again, they don’t occur down my way. Love the last pic where one is giving you the eye! 😉

  3. Sue Lanchester

    Absolutely beautiful, magic. Sue woodend

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  4. Susan Lanchester

    Absolutely beautiful, magic. Sue woodend

  5. I owe my interest in birds to diamond firetails. When I first saw them I had to identify them and I was hooked !

  6. Helen Hazelman

    What joy!
    As always love your keen eye and great photos.
    Helen,
    Talbot

  7. Just what is that makes a bird super cute? DFTs have certainly got it.

  8. Beautiful photos of this lovely bird.

  9. Haven’t seen these beautiful little birds for a long time. Lovely pics Geoff.

  10. Caroline and I happened to be passing through Bendigo on our way home to Warragul from Ouyen yesterday when we saw your post about the firetails. We diverted to Rise and Shine, and soon enough found the flock. Got some great pics of this special bird. Thanks Geoff.

  11. Exquisite little birds!

    On Sun, Jun 11, 2017 at 10:34 AM, Natural Newstead wrote:

    > Geoff Park posted: “I was delighted yesterday to coma across a party of > Diamond Firetails at the Rise and Shine. The birds, about 7-8 in total > including immatures, were feeding just to the north of the nature walk > shelter. Their gentle mewing calls gave them away immediately” >

Leave a Reply

