Looking up and down

From time to time to time I look down – usually to avoid a clumsy fall, or in search of orchids. On a short walk along Fence Track last weekend I paused to admire the exposed rock exposed by recent rain. This material was originally laid down deep under the sea in the Ordovician period, between 420 and 500 million years ago.

The juxtaposition of these rocks, seeing the light of day for the first time in eons, with woodland birds watching overhead, is quite compelling.

Buff-rumped Thornbill, Fence Track, 22nd April 2017

II

Sedimentary rock along Fence Track

II

Female Scarlet Robin

3 responses to “Looking up and down

  1. Carole O'Neill

    I went Birding on Sunday in the Ironbark forest areas. Photographs of birds were far and few between. However by looking down I found the largest collection of mushrooms I’d ever seen. Fungi of all shapes, colours and sizes

  2. Soft pastel layers
    Gaily decorate the cutting…
    Ordovician Rocks!

    Terry Allan

  3. Lindy Damoulakis

    Thanks, Geoff! I’ve enjoy your posts so much. I’m so used to Facebook I want to press “Like” every time you post.

Leave a Reply

