Not what I was hoping for …

Over past weeks our local Yellow Gums have started to flower … but not the heavy blossoming that I was hoping for.

Rotunda Park is notable for its magnificent veteran Yellow Gums and in the past these have lured Swift Parrots to feed on the nectar during April as they arrived back on the mainland from their Tasmanian breeding grounds. In years of bountiful flowering the birds remained right throughout winter.

I fear that once again this year the paucity of flowering won’t be sufficient to encourage the parrots to pay anything more than a fleeting visit. With the Easter break promising excellent weather I’m hoping a few ‘swifties’ might be about.

Juvenile Red Wattlebird, Rotunda Park, 11th April 2017

Yellow Gum buds

Silvereye feeding on Box-thorn

2 responses to “Not what I was hoping for …

  1. Hi Geoff, I stayed at Welshman’s Reef two weeks ago and the Yellow Gums there were flowering. There were a million Musk Lorikeets taking advantage, but you may remember I mentioned to you that I thought I saw a Swift Parrot there as well (on Friday 31st March). Could be worth checking out. Cheers, Bill.

Leave a Reply

