Strike while the iron’s hot

Like the Sacred Kingfishers, currently feasting on a smorgasbord of fish, skinks and cicadas, I’ve been trying to make the most of photographic opportunities with these charismatic migrants. Trying to capture them in flight, a sharp image at least, is an exceedingly difficult – one that I suspect I will never master.

skf5

Sacred Kingfisher, Loddon River @ Newstead, 17th December 2016

skf4

II

skf6

III

skf2

IV

skf3

V

skf1

VI

9 responses to “Strike while the iron’s hot

  1. Lovely images Geoff. They are great to watch. I have a pair in our garden at the moment and I’m also trying to capture them in flight.

  2. Fantastic shots. Can I use them to parent please? Sue

    Sent from my iPad

  3. All excellent, but you have a stunning last photo in flight, thanks!

  4. Bernie McRitchie

    That last shot is a pearler Geoff!

  5. Hi Geoff I would like to thank you for the beautiful posts I enjoy every morning. Your photography is just beautiful and gives me a great way to start my day.

    Many thanks

    Julie Sellens​

    On Sun, Dec 18, 2016 at 10:10 AM, Natural Newstead wrote:

    > Geoff Park posted: “Like the Sacred Kingfishers, currently feasting on a > smorgasbord of fish, skinks and cicadas, I’ve been trying to make the most > of photographic opportunities with these charismatic migrants. Trying to > capture them in flight, a sharp image at least, is an ” >

  6. Been following your blog for a while now; really appreciate your image-making and the diversify of wildlife around Newstead.

Leave a Reply

