Another raptor encounter

There have been lots of raptor encounters over the past few weeks – may they continue. This juvenile Wedge-tailed Eagle was observed near Yandoit on Friday afternoon, nicely framed high up in a River Red-gum.

The spiky ‘head-dress’ is typical of many in the eagle clan – this is the first time I’ve managed a decent shot of one in full regalia. It conjures up visions of some of the relatives of Aquila audax, most notably the fearsome Monkey-eating Eagle of the Phillipines … which as it turns out doesn’t actually eat monkeys!

WTE1

Wedge-tailed Eagle (juvenile), Yandoit, 29th January 2016

WTE2

II

WTE3

III

WTE4

IV

WTE6

V

WTE5

VI

WTE7

VII

7 responses to “Another raptor encounter

  1. Wow, wedge-tailed eagle. This birder is in complete awe…. :)

  2. Oh that third photo! It looks just like a teenager newly home with a radical hairstyle, saying “What! You don’t like it?!!”
    I had no idea wedgies were capable of wearing head dresses. Thank you.
    On another topic: for a while I’ve been puzzling over the statistics on this page. Your followers are now 1155 and surely almost all of them daily open the e-mails they receive. Yet your daily hits are usually only between 200 and 300, except when you experimented with a new presentation, and then they suddenly soared to over 1000. Does this mean that when we only look at the photos via our e-mail we don’t register as a hit? Or are there actually people who resist that daily surge of joy from your birds, and don’t open their e-mails? Surely not!

  3. Hi Arbi – the blog stats are a mystery to me I’m afraid. Thanks for the nice comment.
    Cheers, geoff

  4. I’m ever so grateful I found you, I love your photos and look forward to them on my emails, thank you. I grow veggies and fruit trees organically on my backyard and rats have been enjoying the fruits of my labour leaving nothing for me; I was told the only solution would be to attract raptors but I’m in the eastern suburbs of Sydney, have never seen raptors in this area; only heard of the Majestic Owl in Centennial Park, about 2 kms away from where I live. Can you please suggest what to do?

    • Hi Cecilia, sorry but I doubt I can help with the rat problem – we have them as well, despite a passing parade of sparrowhawks, goshawks and the occasional Powerful Owl. The only real solution is to keep them away from food and that’s pretty much impossible in a productive garden. Grin and bear it I’m afraid.
      All the best, geoff

  5. THIS IS A FANTASTIC SITE. THANK YOU FOR SHARING YOUR GEMS OF PHOTOS AND INFO ~ new visitor: Belinda Smeal, Romsey.

Leave a Reply

