A tough time for kids

I was slightly surprised last evening to find a family of Jacky Winters, the parents and two young, in the company of the Brown Treecreeper family that featured yesterday. The two juvenile flycatchers were quite different in appearance – it’s possible that one may have been from an earlier clutch.

Times are tough in the local bush – it’s drier and more desolate than I can recall, but I guess insectivores can still make a living from what’s on offer. I’m hoping for a wet autumn that might produce a ‘bounce back’ in diversity and abundance of woodland birds.

JW1

Juvenile Jacky Winter, Mia Mia Road, 18th January 2016.

JW2

Note the spotted underparts and striking on the neck and crown.

JW3

I think that’s an adult at left and an older juvenile at right.

JW4

Juvenile silhouette.

3 responses to “A tough time for kids

  1. I really delight in these emails. Have I clicked something wrong?mUnusually a week has gone by without your greetings. I hope it is because you are having a well deserved break. Patricia

    • Hi Patricia – not sure what has happened – you may need to resubscribe – thanks for the nice feedback
      Cheers, geoff

      • Patricia Prendergast

        Thank you Geoff. I have resubscribed and had congratulations and reassurance on doing so. Looking to continuing.

        Patricia.

        Sent from my iPad

        >

Leave a Reply

