Cormorant sequence

In my forays along the river in recent weeks Little Pied Cormorants have been a regular sight – usually seen departing from a river-side perch, then circling overhead in ones and twos. This individual passed close enough for a rapid flight sequence. The patterns and colours on the neck are intriguing.

LPC1

Little Pied Cormorant, Loddon River @ Newstead, 2nd January 2015.

LPC2

II

LPC3

III

LPC4

IV

2 responses to “Cormorant sequence

  1. Hi Geoff,
    I was interested so see your photograph of the Little Pied Cormorant with the unusual colouration as I saw a similarly coloured bird about two weeks ago near Batemans Bay. Until I read your post I thought it was some disclouration due to pollution but I am not sure now. Here is a link to a photograph (sorry about the quality but it is a very tight crop).
    https://picasaweb.google.com/117346146981767999165/CullendullaCreek?authkey=Gv1sRgCNSf-s2_nrKXAg#6237672350736080818
    Regards,
    Roman

    • Hi Roman.
      I agree that this is not likely due to pollution. My theory is that the dark colour is from mud that has attached to the feathers gathered as the bird has fished underwater. I wonder if the knotted pattern is from the contortions of the birds neck as it has chased it prey under water? All the best with your birding and photography.
      Cheers, geoff

Leave a Reply

