The Twelve Days of Twitchmas

by Dean McLaren

Just loving all the birds at our place at the moment and it inspired me to re-write an old favourite, based on the amount of wonderful birds that we see on a daily basis … I tried “We whistle you a Merry Christmas”, but it just didn’t work!

On behalf of all the ‘Natural Newstead’ followers, I would like to thank Geoff and the other contributors for the wonderful images and stories from this special part of our amazing country. Merry Twitchmas to you all.

On the first day of Twitchmas my bush block shared with me:
An Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

On the second day of Twitchmas my bush block shared with me:
2 Diamond Firetails
And an Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

On the third day of Twitchmas my bush block shared with me:
3 Tawny Frogmouths
2 Diamond Firetails
And an Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

On the fourth day of Twitchmas my bush block shared with me:
4 Eastern Rosellas
3 Tawny Frogmouths
2 Diamond Firetails
And an Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

On the fifth day of Twitchmas my bush block shared with me:
5 Sulphur-crested Cockatoos
4 Eastern Rosellas
3 Tawny Frogmouths
2 Diamond Firetails
And an Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

On the sixth day of Twitchmas my bush block shared with me:
6 Pink Galahs
5 Sulphur-crested Cockatoos
4 Eastern Rosellas
3 Tawny Frogmouths
2 Diamond Firetails
And an Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

On the seventh day of Twitchmas my bush block shared with me:
7 White-winged Choughs
6 Pink Galahs
5 Sulphur-crested Cockatoos
4 Eastern Rosellas
3 Tawny Frogmouths
2 Diamond Firetails
And an Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

On the eighth day of Twitchmas my bush block shared with me:
8 Grey Shrike-thrush
7 White-winged Choughs
6 Pink Galahs
5 Sulphur-crested Cockatoos
4 Eastern Rosellas
3 Tawny Frogmouths
2 Diamond Firetails
And an Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

On the ninth day of Twitchmas
my bush block shared with me:
9 Crimson Rosellas
8 Grey Shrike-thrush
7 White-winged Choughs
6 Pink Galahs
5 Sulphur-crested Cockatoos
4 Eastern Rosellas
3 Tawny Frogmouths
2 Diamond Firetails
And an Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

On the tenth day of Twitchmas my bush block shared with me:

10 Brown Treecreepers
9 Crimson Rosellas
8 Grey Shrike-thrush
7 White-winged Choughs
6 Pink Galahs
5 Sulphur-crested Cockatoos
4 Eastern Rosellas
3 Tawny Frogmouths
2 Diamond Firetails
And an Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

On the eleventh day of Twitchmas my bush block shared with me:
11 Yellow-tufted Honeyeaters
10 Brown Treecreepers
9 Crimson Rosellas
8 Grey Shrike-thrush
7 White-winged Choughs
6 Pink Galahs
5 Sulphur-crested Cockatoos
4 Eastern Rosellas
3 Tawny Frogmouths
2 Diamond Firetails
And an Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

On the twelfth day of Twitchmas my bush block shared with me:
12 White-browed Babblers
11 Yellow-tufted Honeyeaters
10 Brown Treecreepers
9 Crimson Rosellas
8 Grey Shrike-thrush
7 White-winged Choughs
6 Pink Galahs
5 Sulphur-crested Cockatoos
4 Eastern Rosellas
3 Tawny Frogmouths
2 Diamond Firetails
And an Australian Owlet Nightjar in a gum tree

13 responses to “The Twelve Days of Twitchmas

  1. Happy twitching to all. Wonderful verse and not a human to be had no “Lords a Leaping” no “Milkmaids”. The Peace of an Australian Christmas with only the stident tones of cockies shrieking. 🎶🌞🎶

  2. Heather Freemantle

    After a wonderful morning of bird watching I was delighted to read your wonderful poem. It captures so well the birds which live this part of the country.

  3. That is lovely Dean. Much nicer than the original!!!
    Happy twitch as to you. Caroline and the boys.
    Ruth

  4. Bravo! Great song and photographs. The Hartup family also thank Geoff and contributors to Natural Newstead for the wonderful daily postings and for the ideas and support given to Alan Hartup’s photographic exhibition which was a huge success.

  5. Brought a smile and wonderful imaginations to my mind. Thank you Geoff and all contributors for some magnificent images of our wonderful wildlife.
    All the very best wishes to all and may 2016 have many more beautiful images in the pipeline.

  6. I have enjoyed your post all year Geoff. Happy Christmas to all the Birdos. Looking forward to next year and hopefully some rain for our feathered friends.

  7. Thanks Dean, and a Merry Christmas to you and Geoff and the other Newstead Naturalists who make the world a happier natural place to share

  8. Wow love the song.
    I too share all these gorgeous birds way north of Newstead in the Whipstick Forest.
    Many thanks to everyone who has contributed some totally amazing images to this site during the year. For me it has been educational in an easy, fun and very beautiful way!
    Happy Xmas and New Year to you all.

  9. Thanks for all the lovely comments. Would be delighted for people to make their own version, based on the species found in your own backyards and respective properties. Once again wishing you all a very Merry Twitchmas.
    (Remember if you ever find it on Google or Wikipedia, you read it here first!)

  10. Wonderful… and thank you for all the excellent observations and photos over the year, Seasons Greetings.

  11. brilliant piece Dean.
    you’re good.

  12. Delightful, with thanks.

    >

  13. Delightful; thank you Dean. I’ve adapted it for birds I see in the Goulburn Valley, added my own photos (not in Geoff’s league, but recognisable), and circulated it to friends, referencing your original idea here, of course.
    Thanks to Geoff for providing this site, and for the almost daily bird joys he gives us. It’s such a lift to each day!
    Best wishes to Geoff, to you Dean, and to everyone else involved in this site for Christmas and for 2016.

Leave a Reply

