Pass or fail?

A while back I’d been watching a pair of Rufous Whistlers breeding in the garden next door. The male had been singing vociferously, sometimes at its own reflection, while the female sat snugly on the nest – in the fork of a Plane Tree. At the time I’d expected to see young being fed, the nest was observed to be partly dismantled and the parents and nestlings nowhere to be seen. I assumed a predator had struck and the exercise had been a failure. That was until last weekend when I spotted the male fossicking for food in our garden, keeping an eye on one small, spotty-streaky fledgling. These must have been from the same family and it appears what I’d marked down as a failure may well turn into success.

5 responses to “Pass or fail?

  1. We have enjoyed their beautiful song all spring this year in our garden. Still there.

  2. Thankyou for these fantastic pictures and the education I’m gradually gleaning. I’m disappointed that the photos are now much smaller on my phone as I adore getting the daily pictures and now need to go into each one to enlarge it before I can see them?

    • Hi Nicky – sorry about the change in format – have just been experimenting with some different ways of presenting the posts … will bear the phone issue in mind!
      All the best, geoff

  3. I bet lots of people [including me] would never have guessed the identity of the juvenile whistler you photographed, if you hadn’t told us what it was. A remarkable shot. John.

    • Thanks John – many juvenile ‘woodland’ birds have similar markings and colouration – Eastern Yellow Robins for example.
      All the best for Xmas and 2016.
      Cheers, geoff

Leave a Reply

