The object of my attentions

Eastern Yellow Robins have a reputation as friendly and curious birds. I was a little surprised though as to how close this adult was prepared to approach, as I wandered along the Loddon last evening.

Then I spotted the reason … I was between the parent and a well advanced immature bird being fed in a nearby Blackwood Wattle. Note the patches of brown juvenile plumage being replaced by the glorious yellow of the adult.

EYR3

Eastern Yellow Robin, Loddon River @ Newstead, 10th November 2015.

EYR2

II

EYR4

III

EYR5

IV

EYR1

Immature Eastern Yellow Robin.

3 responses to “The object of my attentions

  1. It’s amazing the difference between sitting and watching one and then seeing them still and you get to notice a lot more, their, legs, feathers, the little wee point on the beak. Thanks!

  2. Gorgeous creature! An Eastern Yellow Robin was the first bird I observed with new binoculars in the Dandenongs 40 years ago. It’s right up there in the breathtaking moments of my life. Thank you!

  3. What a cutie-pie! How lucky you are to have such local residents.

Leave a Reply

