Small bird, big repertoire … and a bag of tricks!

by Patrick Kavanagh

Brown Thornbills are one of the species resident in our front yard and delight us with their calls and their quiet beauty. So I was really interested to see this article outlining some interesting recent research demonstrating one of their intriguing survival strategies.

Brown-Thornbill_15-03-07_7-

Brown Thornbill, Strangways – Photograph by Patrick Kavanagh.

I think I will now look at these sweet birds with even more respect.

2 responses to “Small bird, big repertoire … and a bag of tricks!

  1. Brilliant bit of detective work and I loved listening to the audio!

  2. Fascinating stuff! I do bird surveys for Connecting Country – and a lot of ID is by call. I will make sure if there are Brown thornbills about that I do not make assumptions! Thanks, Patrick…

Leave a Reply

