Shrike-tit memory

Many years ago I banded birds, as part of the CSIRO Bird and Bat Banding Scheme, to contribute to better understanding of the movements and life history of Australian birds.

One vivid memory was catching a family party of Crested Shrike-tits at one of my banding sites, near Stawell in central Victoria. The sensation of being bitten by a shrike-tit is still with me after 35 years! What a beautiful species they are. This male featured in yesterday’s post, arriving to drink at a small waterhole along Mia Mia Track. I thought it worthy of a few extra images.

CSTIT1

Crested Shrike-tit, Mia Mia Track, 22nd March 2015.

CSTIT2

Sharing the perch with a Fuscous Honeyeater.

CSTIT3

They seem to have a permanent startled look!

CSTIT5

The sudden appearance of a raptor overhead provoked this response.

CSTIT4

What a great bird – that bill certainly looks formidable.

5 responses to “Shrike-tit memory

  1. Great photos I loved seeing them occasionally in the garden at Yandoit.

  2. Clodagh Norwood

    Geoff, We used to see the shrike tit every year at my place at Fryerstown. I am still constantly on the lookout for it. I agree it is a magnificent bird and I love all those photos you have got of it, and wouldn’t mind having a memory of a shrike-tit bite! I do have a memory of a pardalote in my hair, however, trying to glean nesting material, as I walked across the paddock. Thanks for the great photos as always Clodagh

  3. lynette amaterstein

    They do seem to have that look. Such a beautiful looking bird. Have yet to see one. Thanks for the great pic.
    Lynette

  4. Thanks for the photos of a great bird. We have the crested shrike tit nearby and I am always listening for its call or on the lookout for them.

  5. The rumour goes that when you’re mist-netting and get a Crested Shrike-tit, you have to be careful or they can rip off your thumb-nail.

Leave a Reply

