A new flycatcher for the Rise and Shine

A visit to the Rise and Shine this afternoon was my first for some time and I was rewarded with a new bird for my local list. A strange alarm call drew me to where I disturbed a young Brown Goshawk (an adult was perched nearby) feeding on a freshly killed baby rabbit … the call was coming from a male Leaden Flycatcher Myiagra rubecula.

Male Leaden Flycatcher, Rise and Shine, 5th January 2012.

It transpired that there were a pair, with both adults feeding a very recently fledged juvenile. I suspect that the flycatchers had nested successfully nearby. Both parents made numerous feeding visits, the female bringing a large dragonfly on one occasion.

Female Leaden Flycatcher feeding a dragonfly to fledgling.

The male did its fair share of the feeding duties.

This species is very similar to its close relative the Satin Flycatcher Myiagra cyanoleuca with the upper parts of the male a dull grey compared to glossy blue-black in M.cyanoleuca. The females of both species are almost indistinguishable. This group of flycatchers have very broad bills that help them catch a wide variety of flying insects.

Note the broad bill on this female.

Female Leaden Flycatcher, Rise and Shine, 5th January 2012.

9 responses to “A new flycatcher for the Rise and Shine

  1. Lovely photos, Geoff. In the last couple of seasons at least, Leadens have been regular and pretty common summer migrants up here in the Strathbogies, which has allowed me to learn many of their calls. They have a wide variety of calls, some delightful and most unflycatcher-like, like their melodic, repeated “pee-ter, pee-ter …”. Like most other birds, their calls announce their presence long before the bird is seen (if at all, esp in our tall euc forests). I presume they breed up here, though I’ve never seen a nest.

    • Thanks Bert and Happy New Year to you!
      Leaden Flycatchers are pretty thin on ground around Newstead – I think we are right on the edge of their range. I recorded a Satin Flycatcher pair at the same site last year … now suspect my ID was wrong as Leadens are renowned for using the same nesting site from year to year.
      Cheers for now, Geoff

  2. Collecting seed near Baringhup today Jane Mitchell and I were delighted to hear Restless Flycatchers, Myiagra inquieta (very apt species name!)

  3. Hi Geoff, the Leaden Flycatchers are back in the district. I saw one, briefly, in our peach tree a week ago. And this weekend two birds have been calling around our house – a male giving us a wonderful display yesterday afternoon. This is the first time I’ve seen them at Strangways.

  4. Hi Kate, that’s great news. Would it be OK for me to drop out for a look over the next day or two?
    Cheers, Geoff

  5. Kate Sandiford

    The Leaden Flycatchers are back at Strangways. This afternoon I watched a female (gaping in the heat) at close range at 4:40pm then again an hour later.

  6. Thats great news Kate – will try and pop by for a look this week if that’s OK
    Cheers, geoff

    • Kate Sandiford

      Of course it’s okay. Same general area as last sighting. We’ve also been seeing White-throated Needletails overhead for the last two days (mid morning) which is a first for us but perhaps just an accident of when someone looks up?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.